BCCI announce India squad for West Indies Tour: Pujara dropped, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Mukesh Kumar receive starting call-ups; Rahane returns as vice-captain – News Block

    follow us

  • Sports news Google News
  • The sports news telegram

The BCCI announced India’s squad for the upcoming two-match, three-ODI Test series against the West Indies starting on July 12 on Friday. India is also scheduled to play five T20Is and the squad for the same will be announced later.

India Test Squad for the West Indies Tour

While Rohit Sharma will continue as captain, Ajinkya Rahane, who returned to the test squad for the World Test Championship final, will return as vice-captain.

Youngster Yashasvi Jaiswal, who made his presence felt during IPL 2023 and accompanied the Indian team to the WTC final as a substitute, received his first call-up.

Young guns like Ruturaj Gaikwad and pacer Mukesh Kumar have also received their first call-ups, while veteran players like Cheteshwar Pujara and Mohammed Shami have been dropped.

Pacer Navdeep Saini is also back in the team.

Indian Test Squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), KS Bharat (goalkeeper), Ishan Kishan (goalkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, and Navdeep Saini.

India’s ODI squad for the West Indies Tour

While Rohit Sharma is the captain, Hardik Pandya has been appointed vice-captain.

Sanju Samson and Jaydev Unadkat have been named to the Indian team’s 50+ squad.

Arshdeep Singh’s left-arm pacer, which is a regular feature in T20Is, has been largely ignored by selectors in ODIs. Jaydev Unadkat is the only left-arm pacer of the West Indies ODI series.

Indian ODI Squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (goalkeeper), Ishan Kishan (goalkeeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.

Follow The Sports News for the latest Cricket news.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top