Tuesday, July 27, 2021
All countries COVID-19 Cases
Total confirmed cases
Updated on July 27, 2021 9:24 PM

France adds Russia to the list of prohibited countries

Must Read
- Advertisement -
PARIS: France is adding Russia to its “red list” of countries from which travel is prohibited, unless for urgent reasons, as they are battling waves of viruses and worrisome variants.
French government spokesman Gabriel Attal said on Wednesday that Russia, Namibia and Seychelles are being added to the list of now 21 countries.
The “red list” includes in particular India, South Africa and Brazil and implies that vaccinated travelers arriving in France must justify their travel, present a negative test and self-isolate for a week.
Those not vaccinated must remain in quarantine for 10 days, with the risk of a fine of 1000 euros, equivalent to USD 1,194.
Attal also called for increased vigilance on the most contagious delta variant, first identified in India.
The delta variant is estimated to account for 9 to 10 percent overall in France, he said.
But authorities are closely monitoring the situation in a region of southwestern France, the Landes, where 70 percent of confirmed infections are due to the delta variant, he added.
The epidemic situation in France has improved rapidly in recent weeks, with around 2,300 new daily infections reported each day, down from the 35,000 recorded at the peak from March to April.
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
Latest News

The smoky air is likely to be with us during the summer and fall. This is what you need to know. –...

Wildfire smoke can cause irritating symptoms for healthy people and more serious health problems for people with respiratory problems...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -