Grand Slam of Darts 2021: Raymond van Barneveld wins one of eight qualifying spots for the tournament | Darts News


Van Barneveld beat Michael van Gerwen to win the title in 2012 but hasn’t appeared since 2018 – joins the 32-player pool that includes Fallon Sherrock and Lisa Ashton and starts, live on Sky Sports Arena on Saturday 13 November from 1pm

Last updated: 21/05/11 15:05

Raymond van Barneveld was one of eight players to win a seat at this month’s Grand Slam of Darts

2012 Grand Slam of Darts champion Raymond van Barneveld booked a sensational return to the event by claiming one of eight seats up for grabs for Friday’s Tour Card holder qualifiers.

The five-time world champion, who came out of retirement to regain his PDC Tour spot at Q-School earlier in the year, was one of many high-profile names looking to win a spot at Aldersley Leisure Village at the end of the month.

Barney received a first-round bye at the Barnsley Metrodome and, having beaten Alan Souter on average over 100, kept his cool to beat fellow Dutch fit Danny Noppert. This created a showdown with Brendan Dolan, with a Grand Slam seat up for grabs.

Dolan forged a 4-3 lead only to lose darts for the match and Van Barneveld forced a decisive leg, where he produced thin arrows to leave 24 darts after 12 against throwing. When Dolan failed to take out 72, Barney pinned with double 12s to seal his return to the tournament.

Live Darts Grand Slam

November 13, 2021, 1:00 pm


Grand Slam of Darts 2021: qualifiers

Automatic qualifiers
Gerwyn Price Gary Anderson Bradley Brooks Raymond van Barneveld
Jose De Sousa Dimitri Van den Bergh Joe Davis Mike De Dekker
Jonny Clayton Mervyn King Jim Williams Gabriele Clemente
Peter Wright Luca Humphries Matt Campbell Martin Schindler
James Wade Suljovic scale length Nathan Rafferty Stefano Bunting
Rob Cross Rowby-John Rodriguez Fallon Sherrock Ryan Joyce
Michael van Gerwen Michael Smith Lisa Ashton Krzysztof Ratajski
John Henderson Joe Cullen Winner of the European Development Tour Boris Krcmar

There was an international flavor to the qualifiers in Yorkshire. Along with the Dutchman in claiming the qualifying places on offer were the Belgians Mike De Dekker, of Germany Gabriele Clemente Other Martin Schindler, Poland Krzystof Ratajski and Croatia Boris Krcmar.

Former BDO World Champion Stefano Bunting Other Ryan Joyce took the other seats but it’s Van Barneveld’s return to the tournament for the first time since 2018 that will make headlines.

The 54-year-old marked his comeback with a Pro Tour title earlier this year, part of a successful first year on the PDC circuit that will culminate in a return to the World Championship.

Nine years after winning the Grand Slam, Van Barneveld will return to the tournament for the first time in three years

Nine years after winning the Grand Slam, Van Barneveld will return to the tournament for the first time in three years

World number 9 Nathan Aspinall is the highest scoring player not to participate in the event. The ASP was joined by Simon Whitlock and Tuesday’s Pro Tour winner Chris Dobey as round two victims.

Two-time world champion Adrian Lewis, Danny Noppert, Dirk van Duijvenbode and Ian White all fell in the round of 32, leaving the last 16 players on penalties for a spot at Wolverhampton.

In the 2014 finals runner-up Dave Chisnall was beaten by Schindler, while former World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney was beaten by Joyce and Steve Brown, Ross Smith, Kim Huybrechts, Callan Rydz and William O’Connor are they were all excruciatingly inferior.

Only one seat remains up for grabs after Michael Smith and Joe Cullen secured the last two automatic spots at this week’s Pro Tour events in Barnsley – the winner of the European Development Tour will be confirmed this weekend.

Download and Subscribe: The Darts Show Podcast

Colin Lloyd and Rod Studd join us on Monday to look back on the Women’s Series and World Series of Darts Finals

A busy week in Barnsley

Friday’s action was the last day of a busy week at Barnsley which saw Chris Dobey win his second Pro Tour title of the season, Michael van Gerwen claim his first ranked event of the year and Krzysztof Ratajski his first title of the season.

Dobey beats Searle on the first day | MvG finally ends 2021 wait | Ratajski beats Cullen

All of which means that the 64-player field for the Players Championship Finals at Minehead at the end of November has been confirmed, while the remaining event for players to secure their PDC Tour Card and those not qualified for the TV events will be the World Championship Qualifier Monday 29th November.

Don’t miss a dart with all nine days of live Grand Slam of Darts action from Wolverhampton’s Aldersley Leisure Village kicks off on Saturday 13th November – join us from 1pm for the first of two sessions on Day One on Sky sports hall.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here