Thursday, August 5, 2021
All countries COVID-19 Cases
201,005,476
Total confirmed cases
Updated on August 5, 2021 4:38 AM

How to collaborate with others in the Notes app on iPhone and iPad

Must Read
- Advertisement -
Writer

Source: Christine Romero-Chan / iMore

While the Notes app is a great place to store your thoughts, ideas, and other random bits of information you need on hand, it’s also great for collaborating with others. For example, you can create a shared shopping checklist with your partner or even share ideas with a colleague for your next big project. All of this is possible directly on your best iPhone or iPad simply by sharing notes.

If you’re wondering how to share notes on iPhone via Notes app, here’s how.

How to Invite People to Make Changes to Notes on iPhone and iPad

After you’ve started a note, you can invite other people to view and collaborate on it.

  1. Open the Notes app.
  2. Select a qualification to share and edit with others.
  3. Tap on the plus button (…) in the upper right corner.

    How to invite people to make changes to notes on iPhone by showing: Launch Notes, select a note to share, tap the ... button in the upper right corner

    Source: iMore

  4. Faucet Share note.
  5. Choose how you’d like to send the invitation – you can use the messaging, email, social media, or productivity apps.
  6. Enter the names of the recipients. You can send invitations individually or as a group.
  7. Touch the arrow in the text field to send.

    How to invite people to make changes to notes on iPhone by showing: touch Share note, touch the desired method, enter recipients, touch Send

    Source: iMore

Recipients will receive a link to the note in iCloud, which they can then use to collaborate on iPhone and iPad with iOS 10 or later or in iCloud with a Mac or PC.

VPN Deals: $ 16 Lifetime License, $ 1 Monthly Plans, and More

How to work on a note on iPhone or iPad in real time with others

Once invited, others can start editing and adding content to your note. Whether it’s a checklist, photo, or sketch, everyone can collaborate.

You can see, in real time, the phrases that are being edited. When someone else is editing a note, you will see their words highlighted on the screen. If you come across such activity, try not to add your own information until the other person has finished. Unfortunately, this can cause some complications when multiple people try to edit the same thing. Since updates are synced through iCloud, you can start typing something, only to see it disappear a few seconds later.

Work on a note in real time with other people showing: Changes made by other people are highlighted for easier

Source: iMore

How to see what has changed in a note, even when it is not in real time

You can see the changes that others have made with the Highlight Changes feature. This makes it easier to see what has been added without having to watch it change in real time.

  1. Open the Notes app.
  2. Navigate to qualification that is shared.

    See what changed in a note even when not in real time in Notes on iPhone by showing: Launch Notes, tap a shared note

    Source: iMore

  3. Tap on the To collaborate icon. It looks like the silhouette of a head with a check mark icon next to it.
  4. Tap on the Highlight All Shift Switch Turn it on.

    See what changed in a note even when not in real time in Notes on iPhone showing: Tap the Collaborate icon, tap the switch to Highlight all changes to ON

    Source: iMore

The highlight color will be based on the person who made the changes. Unfortunately, the chosen colors are not customizable.

How to change permissions on a shared note on iPhone or iPad

  1. Launch the Notes app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on the collaborative note where you want to edit the permissions.
  3. Tap on the Collaborate button. It looks like the silhouette of a head with a check mark next to it.

    How to change permissions on a shared note on iPhone showing: Run notes, tap Shared note, tap Collaboration button

    Source: iMore

  4. Faucet Share options.
  5. Select whether you want to allow people Make changes or View only.

    How to change permissions on a shared note on iPhone showing: Touch Sharing options, select if you want the person to be able to make changes or only view

    Source: iMore

How to stop receiving notifications about changes in a note on iPhone or iPad

If you don’t want to hear a distracting “ding” every time someone makes even a minor change to a note you’re collaborating on, you can calm your note and your nerves.

  1. Open the Notes app.
  2. Navigate to qualification you are sharing.

    Stop receiving notifications about changes to a note by showing: Launch Notes, tap a shared note

    Source: iMore

  3. Tap on the To collaborate icon. It looks like the silhouette of a head with a check mark icon next to it.
  4. Tap on the Hide the alert switch Turn it on.

    Stop receiving notifications about changes to a note on iPhone showing: Tap Collaborate button, tap toggle to Enable Hide alerts

    Source: iMore

How to stop sharing a note on iPhone or iPad

Once you’ve finished working on a note with your group and need no further editing help, you can stop sharing it with the group. That is how.

  1. Open the Notes app.
  2. Navigate to qualification you are sharing.
  3. Tap on the To collaborate icon. It looks like the silhouette of a head with a check mark icon next to it.

    How to stop sharing a note on iPhone showing: Launch Notes, tap Shared note, tap Collaboration button

    Source: iMore

  4. Faucet Stop sharing to prevent everyone from having access to the note.
  5. Confirm you want to stop sharing the note by tapping Stop sharing.

    Stop sharing a note on iPhone showing: tap Stop sharing, then tap Stop sharing again to confirm

    Source: iMore

How to remove individual access to a note on iPhone or iPad

If someone has left your project team or if you accidentally shared a note with someone who is not on your team, you can also remove individual collaborators from the group.

  1. Open the Notes app.
  2. Navigate to qualification you are sharing.
  3. Tap on the To collaborate icon. It looks like the silhouette of a head with a check mark icon next to it.

    How to remove individual access to a note on iPhone showing: Launch Notes, tap Shared note, tap Collaboration button

    Source: iMore

  4. Swipe left on a name and tap Get rid of
  5. You can also touch a person’s name and then touch Remove access.

    Delete individual access to a note on iPhone by showing: Swipe left on a name and then tap Delete, or tap the name and then select Delete Access

    Source: iMore

Any questions on how to share notes on iPhone?

Have a question about collaborating on a note in the Notes app? Let me know in the comments and we will help you.

Lory Gil contributed to an earlier version of this guide.

Updated April 2021: Updated for iOS 14.

- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

SUGGESTED NEWS
- Advertisement -
Latest News

Apple Licenses Senior Engineering Program Manager After Tweeting About Sexism At Work

Apple has fired a senior engineering programs manager after tweeting about sexism at the company. As reported by The...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -