If you don’t want to use a particular email account with Microsoft Outlook, or if you want to close your Outlook account entirely, it’s easy to do. We’ll show you how in this guide.
When you delete an email account, Outlook stops syncing new emails of that account. It also removes cached content from your email account, such as emails and attachments. However, please note that your original emails with your email service are retained.
If you want to permanently delete your Outlook account, you can do so by closing your Microsoft account, as we’ll explain in this guide.
To get rid of an email account and not see your emails, first launch the Outlook application on your computer.
When Outlook opens, in the upper left corner, click “File.”
In the right pane, select Account Settings > Account Settings.
An “Account Settings” window will open. Here, click on the “Email” tab and select the email account to delete. Then, in the menu bar above the selected email account, click “Delete”.
If you are deleting the only email account in Outlook, the app will ask you to create a new one data file.
To do this, in the “Account Settings” window, go to the “Data Files” tab. Then click “Add” followed by “OK” to create a new perspective data file.
Back on the “Email” tab, choose the email account you want to delete and select “Delete.”
You’ll see a warning message that says offline cached content will be deleted from your email account. This only affects the local copy of your account data on your computer; Your original data associated with your account is retained.
Continue by clicking “Yes”.
And everything is ready. outlook has deleted the selected email account and you will no longer see your emails in the app. Enjoy!
If you want to permanently delete your Outlook account, you’ll need to close your Microsoft account. Doing so will delete all data associated with your account, including emails, purchases, and other items.
To continue with that, head over to our dedicated guide on How to delete a Microsoft account. There, follow the steps to cancel your account. Once you have done that, your account will be closed and you will no longer be able to access it.
And that’s how you tidy up your Outlook app and say goodbye to your Outlook account forever!
Want add a new email account to Outlook? If so, it’s easy to set up this email client with any of your email accounts.