ISL 2023-24: Imran Khan, Arindam Bhattacharja among five players leaving NorthEast United FC – News Block

    follow us

  • Sports news Google News
  • The sports news telegram

Ahead of the next edition of the Indian Super League (ISL 2023-24), NorthEast United FC parted ways with five first-team players: Imran Khan, Arindam Bhattacharja, Gurjinder Kumar, Provat Lakra and Mashoor Shereef, the club announced on Monday.

This comes after NorthEast United FC announced the departure of eight players: Alex Saji, Aaron Evans, Sehnaj Singh, Kule Mbombo, Joseba Beitia, Wilmar Gil, Alisher Kholmurodov and Laldanmawia Ralte.

Khan, Kumar, Lakra and Shereef were part of the NorthEast United FC team that reached the semi-finals during the 2020-21 ISL season under head coach Khalid Jamil.

See also: ISL 2023-24 Transfer Live News and Updates

Midfielder Khan has been one of NorthEast United FC’s most influential players over the years, registering two goals and four assists in 37 ISL appearances.

Meanwhile, goalkeeper Bhattacharja joined the Highlanders in 2022 from East Bengal FC. The former ISL Gold Glove winner played in 10 games last season for NEUFC, recording 34 saves.

Defender Singh, who signed for the club in 2015, leaves the club after making 45 ISL appearances. He featured in 11 games for the club during the 2022-23 season, also registering one assist.

Shereef, who also joined NorthEast United FC in 2020, leaves the club after 34 ISL appearances in three seasons. His impressive performances during the 2020-21 season led to his being called up to the senior team, where he made his debut against the United Arab Emirates. However, he appeared in just eight games for NEUFC last season.

On the other hand, winger Lakra has been involved with the Highlanders since the 2018-19 season. He has played 36 ISL matches. The Kolkata-born defender did not play for NorthEast United FC during the 2022-23 season as the club finished bottom of the table.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top