Connect with us


UK Excluded From EU Covid Safe Travel List Again, But US Added | Travel



UK Excluded From EU Covid Safe Travel List Again, But US Added |  Travel

British tourists face continued restrictions to travel to the EU this summer, even as the bloc opens to others, including residents of the United States.

Eight countries will be added to a list of countries from where the EU says non-essential travel is safe, but the UK has not been included.

Albania, North Macedonia, Serbia, Lebanon, USA, Taiwan, Macao and Hong Kong will join Australia, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and China in a “white list” .

Diplomatic sources said that while the UK’s level of cases per 100,000 people had been within the criteria for listing, the exponential growth of Delta variant infection had proven to be a stumbling block.

“There are serious concerns about Delta and the increasing numbers,” said an EU diplomat. The extension of the white list was agreed at a meeting of EU ambassadors in Brussels.

The decision means member states are advised to ban non-essential travel for those coming from the UK, even as the EU hopes to open up for the summer holiday season to people from all over the world.

The debate over the full reopening and Boris Johnson’s decision to delay the fourth stage of his roadmap to normalcy had played a role in the EU debate on British tourists, the sources said.

Deaths are relatively low and stable in the UK and Covid vaccines have been shown to work well to protect people.