Why isn’t the NBA on TNT on Thursday? The double-header will not compete with NFL Thursday Night Football

0
86

Are you sitting at home Thursday night, expecting to watch an NBA game on TNT with the award-winning team of Shaquille O’Neal, Charles Barkley, Kenny Smith and Ernie Johnson, only to find something other than basketball on that channel?

You are not alone.

From Wednesday Oct. 27, the NBA reduced its TNT double-header broadcast to Tuesday night just for now. Here because.

NBA League Pass: Sign up to unlock live off-market games (7-day free trial)

Why isn’t the NBA on TNT on Thursday night?

According to NBA insider Marc Stein, the NBA has made the decision not to air the Thursday night doubleheader on TNT to avoid clashing with the NFL’s Thursday Night Football broadcast.

“The NBA will not re-air its usual Thursday night programming on TNT until January, following the Mavericks-at-Hawks last Thursday, followed by Clippers-at-Warriors,” Stein reported on Twitter and via his Substack.

“Rather than confronting Thursday night NFL games, NBA on TNT has entered this season after first moving Ernie, Shaq, Kenny and Charles and the weekly doubleheader they present to Tuesday night for the remainder of 2021.” .

The decision is not a big shock given the increasing ratings of the NFL’s Thursday Night Football show, however, will likely leave basketball fans feeling empty in the weeks of matchups like the Indianapolis Colts versus the New York Jets.

MOREOVER: Dwyane Wade and Candace Parker lead TNT’s new lineup

When will the NBA return to TNT on Thursday night broadcasts?

As Stein hinted, NBA on TNT won’t be returning to broadcasts on Thursday nights until after the New Year. Here is the tentative schedule for the NBA on TNT in 2022.

Along with the games, TNT is also the official national broadcaster for the celebrations at 2022 NBA All-Star Weekend. The mid-season bonanza will be played on Sunday February 20 at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse, home of the Cleveland Cavaliers. This year’s All-Star weekend will celebrate the NBA’s 75th anniversary season and feature members of the NBA’s 75th anniversary team.

MOREOVER: Milestones to watch for this season

2021-22 NBA games on TNT in 2022
Game Day, date Time (ET)
Celtics to the Knicks Thursday 6th January 19:30
Clippers to Suns Thursday 6th January 22:00
Warriors in Bucks Thursday 13th January 19:30
Trail Blazers in Nuggets Thursday 13th January 22:00
Bulls at the Grizzlies Monday 17th January 15:30
Dollars to Hawks Monday 17th January 18:00
Pelicans in Knicks Thursday 20 January 19:30
Alone in Mavericks Thursday 20 January 22:00
Lakers to Nets Tuesday 25th January 19:30
Mavericks to Warriors Tuesday 25th January 22:00
Lakers to 76ers Thursday 27 January 19:30
Timberwolves in Warriors Thursday 27 January 22:00
Wizards at Bucks Tuesday 1st February 19:30
Networks to Suns Tuesday 1st February 22:00
Heat to the Raptors Thursday 3 February 19:30
The Lakers to the Clippers Thursday 3 February 22:00
Celtics to Nets Tuesday 8th February 19:30
Money to the Lakers Tuesday 8th February 22:00
Warmth to the pelicans Thursday 10 February 19:30
Dollars to the Suns Thursday 10 February 22:00
Celtics to 76ers Tuesday 15th February 19:30
Clippers to Suns Tuesday 15th February 22:00
76ers to Bucks Thursday 17 February 20:30
Celtics to Nets Thursday 24 February 19:30
Warriors at Trail Blazers Thursday 24 February 22:00
Hawks to the Celtics Tuesday 1st March 19:30
Mavericks to the Lakers Tuesday 1st March 22:00
Heat in Nets Thursday 3rd March 19:30
The Lakers to the Clippers Thursday 3rd March 22:00
Pelicans to the Grizzlies Tuesday 8 March 19:30
Clippers to Warriors Tuesday 8 March 22:00
Networks to 76ers Thursday 10 march 19:30
Warriors in Nuggets Thursday 10 march 22:00
Hawks to the Knicks Tuesday the 22nd of March 19:30
Clippers to Nuggets Tuesday the 22nd of March 22:00
Lakers to Mavericks Tuesday 29 March 19:30
Jazz at the Clippers Tuesday 29 March 22:00
Money to Nets Thursday 31 March 19:30
Lakers at Jazz Thursday 31 March 22:00
Celtics to Bucks Thursday 7 April 19:30
Lakers to Warriors Thursday 7 April 22:00
TBD to TBD Sunday 10 April 19:30
TBD to TBD Sunday 10 April 22:00

The network will also broadcast the largest number of postseason 2022 playoff games, culminating in the 2022 Western Conference Finals.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here