Saturday, July 24, 2021
All countries COVID-19 Cases
Total confirmed cases
Updated on July 24, 2021 8:20 PM

Wild forward Kirill Kaprizov wins 2020-21 Calder Memorial Trophy

Must Read
- Advertisement -

Minnesota Wild forward Kirill Kaprizov has been named the winner of the 2020-21 Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded to the best rookie in the NHL.

Kaprizov beat out fellow finalists in Carolina Hurricanes goalie Alex Nedeljkovic and Dallas Stars forward Jason Robertson.

Kaprizov, 24, led all NHL first-year players last season with 27 goals and 51 points in 55 regular-season games. He also ranked first among rookies in shots on target (157) and his 51 points led the Wild, making Kaprizov the fourth rookie in the past two decades to lead his team in scoring.

“I’ve enjoyed everything about the game,” Kaprizov said through a translator at the NHL awards ceremony Tuesday night when Patrick Kane asked him what he liked about his first NHL season. “I enjoyed the atmosphere in the locker room. I enjoyed playing on the ice with my teammates. I enjoyed the atmosphere of the playoffs and the different courts that we play on. The organization was incredible.

“I really enjoyed everything from my ice game to team play. Everything this season came together and it was really special. “

Kaprizov is the first wild player in franchise history to win the Calder.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
Latest News

Kiefer Ravena ‘an indispensable force’ for Shiga’s title plans

FILE - Pine Ravena. Photo by Tristan Tamayo / MANILA, Philippines - Kiefer Ravena may be months...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -